Notice: This is legacy content published more than 10 years ago. Information or terminology contained herein may be out of date.

Being Transgender and Living With Dis/ability

I’m Shahn, a 31 year old disabled genderqueer FTM scorpio, too many words and labels to try and include in one sentence. My dis/ability is still revealing itself to me, though the more I learn, the more I realize I’ve been dis/abled all my life. I’ve got Fibromyalgia, Duchennes Muscular Dystrophy (DMD), Asthma, chronic migraines, Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, Multiple Chemical Sensitivity (MCS), and a variety of mental health diagnoses I’ll bring up when/if appropriate. I’m appealing my latest disability denial, in college to finish my long road to an undergraduate degree, and just stepped down as executive director of The American Boyz, a national FTM organization.

I’ve been focusing on DMD more lately, since that’s the newest diagnosis, coming in February. I learned that had I been born male, DMD probably would have killed me by now, if not much sooner. The MD research community is still coming to terms with the fact that female (and presumably XX) people can get DMD. It took me this long to get diagnosed, though I’ve had symptoms all my life. I expect to be writing more about DMD in future installments, especially as my research on female born people with DMD continues.

I hope to address some real-world nuts and bolts as well as talk about what it means to me to be trans and disabled. How I’ve dealt with the medical industry and how the medical industry has dealt with me. I’ll try my best to answer any questions that come my way, and if I can’t answer them I can probably find someone who can. I’m excited and honored to be a part of

4 thoughts on “Being Transgender and Living With Dis/ability”

  1. What it means to me to be m2f transgender, nearly deaf and have a mostly male voice. My list of disabilities is also too long to write in one sentence. The hoh is just one of them.

    We share the migraines and chemical sensitivities.

  2. I know just what your going through, I’ve been a type1 diabetic from age 5, I’m now 44 and had to go on disability 9 years ago. I have heart and kidney disease deal with chronic pain and to walk have braces on both legs only now I may lose my left foot. Most days are bad but even on the few good days this is not living.

  3. Shanh i am wondering if you was able to go through any of the surgical procedures. I have MG and terrified i will not be able to get it done.

  4. I am deaf I motivated myself to be full woman I have problem with insurance I have Medi-cal and Medicare I need medicines and I want surgery virginity and face surgery and butt need up done


Leave a Comment